History and Facts of the Commonwealth Games

The following provides a simple overview of the history of the Commonwealth Games and facts about the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games (GC2018).

Commonwealth Games Governing Bodies

  • Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) is the organisation responsible for the direction and control of the Commonwealth Games. The CGF also control the sporting program and select the host cities for each Games.
  • The Australian Commonwealth Games Association (ACGA) is the national body responsible for Commonwealth Games operations, publicity and development in Australia, specifically providing and organising funding, clothing, travel, accommodation and accreditation of athletes and officials to each Commonwealth Games.

Event History

  • The event was formerly known as the British Empire Games (1930-1950), then the British Empire and Commonwealth Games (1954-1966), before the Games took on the title of British Commonwealth Games (1970-1974) until the 1978 Games in
  • Edmonton that saw this unique, world class, multi-sports event change its name to the Commonwealth Games.
  • The first Commonwealth Games were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada where 11 countries sent 400 athletes to take part in six sports and 59 events.
  • Since 1930, Australia has been proudly represented at every Commonwealth Games.
  • he Games have been conducted every four years (except for 1942 and 1946 due to World War II).

Where have the games been hosted:

  1. Australia:  1938, 1962, 1982, 2006, 2018
  2. Canada: 1930, 1954, 1978, 1994
  3. New Zealand: 1950, 1974, 1990
  4. Scotland: 1970, 1986, 2014
  5. England: (1911*), 1934, 2002

The following countries have hosted the games once each: India: 2010; Malaysia 1998; Jamaica 1966; Wales 1958; South Africa 2022


Word Count: 489

Author: Information has been sourced from Official Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games & Visit Gold Coast
http://www.gc2018.com/?name=Gold-Coast-2018 /www.visitgoldcoast.com