Who's Coming to the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games™

Staged from April 4 - 15, 2018, the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games will mark the fifth time Australia has hosted this world class event since bursting into our sporting calendar way back in 1930 as the British Empire Games. The Gold Coast, Australia's sixth largest city, is setting the scene with a suite of world class venues and major upgrades to welcome the athletes and officials

Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games (GC2018)

  • The Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games™ (GC2018) will be staged from 4 – 15 April 2018.
  • It will be the 21st Commonwealth Games.
  • It will be the fifth time Australia has staged the Commonwealth Games and the first time a Commonwealth Games will be held in a regional Australian city.
  • It will be the largest sporting event to be staged in Australia this decade, and the largest the Gold Coast has ever hosted.
  • In preparation for GC2018 the Queensland Government will deliver three new world-class competition venues and a new multi-purpose venue and undertake major upgrades to a further seven venues.
  • GC2018 will generate an estimated $2 billion economic impact and create up to 30,000 full-time equivalent jobs.


  • The Commonwealth Games is a unique, world class, multi-sport event which is held once every four years. It is often referred to as the 'Friendly Games'.
  • 11 days of competition plus the Opening Ceremony.
  • Features an 18 sport and integrated seven sport para-sport program.
  • Events will be hosted across 18 world-class competition venues located on the Gold Coast, Brisbane, Townsville and Cairns.


  • More than 1,000 technical officials.
  • 5,000 hours of wireless internet access.
  • 350 TV cameras.
  • 1.5 billion cumulative global TV audience.
  • 1,000 hours of live broadcast coverage.


  • 15,000 volunteers will help deliver the Games.


  • 3,500 accredited journalists/photographers, including 1,500 unaccredited media will be in attendance.
  • Up to 100,000 media stories will be produced.
  • Up to 86 million website views.


  • The Commonwealth Games involves participation from the Commonwealth of Nations.
  • The Commonwealth is an association of 70 independent nations and territories.
  • The total Commonwealth population is over 2.328 billion people and makes up 30 per cent of the world's population.
  • Only six countries have attended every Commonwealth Games: Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland, and Wales.
  • Australia has been the highest achieving team for twelve Games, England for seven, and Canada for one.
    Members of the Commonwealth of Nations
  • Africa (18 nations and territories): Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia.
  • Americas (7 nations and territories): Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Canada, Falkland Islands, Guyana, St. Helena.
  • Asia (7 nations and territories): Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka.
  • Caribbean (14 nations and territories): Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, British, Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & The Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands.
  • Europe (10 nations and territories): Cyprus, England, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Malta, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales.
  • Oceania (14 nations and territories): Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Norfolk Island, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.


For GC2018 vision and images please visit: www.brand.gc2018.com