Wine for Water: How to Help Queensland's Granite Belt

22 October, 2019

Enduring one of the most crippling droughts on record, the Granite Belt community is on its knees. The knock-on effect from this natural disaster is now hitting parts of the community in an unprecedented manner.

Farms that should be bursting with greenery readying crops for market are bare and dusty. Dams are parched and resemble moonscapes. Locals relying on town water are limited to using 100L per person per day with many outside this supplying hemorrhaging money to buy water for their own use, as well as water and food for their stock. All the while, staff are being laid off due to a lack of work available, the bustling backpacker trade used for picking fruit and vegetables has ground to a halt, and to add further insult, tourist numbers often teeming this time of year have also plummeted.

To combat this, several Granite Belt wineries have banded together to launch Wine4Water, a not-for-profit alliance to raise much-needed funds for another not-for-profit organisation, Granite Belt Drought Assist. This organisation is responsible for distributing water, food and stock feed for those Granite Belt community members in most need.

How does it all work? Go to one of the participating Granite Belt wineries listed and purchase a Wine4Water mixed 6 pack for $150 - delivered. All wines that are part of this initiative have a retail value of over $25 each with some retailing for $39 and $45 each.

This is a win-win scenario - 6 great wines can be purchased to enjoy while the Granite Belt community wins with approximately $45 from each pack going to those in need.

Give the Wine4Water Facebook Page a Like to keep updated and see what wines each winery is
contributing.

Participating wineries:
Golden Grove Estate www.goldengroveestate.com.au
Ridgemill Estate www.ridgemillestate.com
Hidden Creek www.hiddencreek.com.au
La Petite Mort www.lapetitemort.wine
Twisted Gum www.twistedgum.com.au
Ballandean Estate www.ballandeanestate.com
Pyramids Road Wines www.pyramidsroad.com.au
View Wines www.viewwine.com.au
Girraween Estate www.girraweenestate.com.au
Jester Hill Wines www.jesterhillwines.com.au
Heritage Estate www.heritageestate.wine
Robert Channon Wines www.robertchannonwines.com

For further information, please contact:
Ray Costanzo – Winemaker at Golden Grove Estate ray@goldengroveestate.com.au 0418 798 176

IMAGES: 

1. Winemaker Dylan Rhymer  of Qlds Oldest family owned winery Ballandean Estate Wines loading the ute with bottles of 2017 Shiraz viognier to add to the W4W packs. With an aromatic bouquet of fruit and spice and a generous palate this will look great on anyones dinner table. To purchase packs visit www.ballandeanestate.com Thank you Ballandean Estate.

2. The always smiling Glen Robert from La Petite Mort drops of a sensational Rose to put in the packs. A medium bodied Rose made from Pinot Noir grapes. Displaying crisp fresh blanc pinot flavours and acidity with some earthy, savoury notes underlying subtle strawberry and red-berry fruits. Visit www.lapetitemort.com.au to enquire about this wine and our packs. Thank you La Petite Mort for the support!

Warmest regards,

Brooke Billett
Jolokia
0422 332 985
brooke@jolokia.com.au